previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

No other Place but Here -- 03.02.05
 
I love the little touches, the little things in life that some people step over on the way to the big things in life. Case in point, on last week's trip to Disneyland my family brought some sugar packets.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I don't know about you, but this is the sort of stuff I like. It just says to me that there is someone out there thinking of the little details. I like that. I wonder what that phone number reaches. Is it the hotline where I can get more sugar packets, after I run out. Or can I have those Mickey Mouse shaped pancakes delivered to me? Perhaps I can get some of those $8 hot dogs, or $2.75 bottles of water. Nah, I don't want those. Just send me the pancakes.

I do have to say one thing about that abomination known as Disney's California Adventure... it SUCKS! I mean it really FUCKIN SUCKS. All the time I was there all I wanted to do it get on the two good attractions, and bolt back to Disneyland. But, I couldn't do that because my family, rightly, wanted to see the whole park. But I have to tell you, from the minute I walked into it, I felt bad. There is a slipshod feel to everything at DCA. Like it's not quite finished, not quite thought out, not quite right. The feeling went from bad to worse when I got the Paradise Pier area of the park. That place reminded me of the Santa Monica Pier, in other words SAD. It had the same damp feeling, the same sorry, rundown, look, and the same bad food. In short, it sucked. Sad, simply sad. I know I won't be back to Disney's so-called California Adventure for a long time. Again, sad. I think I'm going to write Disney a letter chronicling my disappointment in the new park.

Jumping back to a few weeks ago, I took a few weeks ago when I went to Chinatown. I haven't really been around there much in a while. This time I decided to look around a bit more, and I found this sign, obviously an homage to the Hollywood sign.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

It was in a fenced in lot, so this was as close as I could get to it. I wonder who put it up, and when. I don't remember seeing it when I last went to Chinatown a couple of years ago. Then again, I didn't walk around the area where this sign is during that last visit.

I went to the 99� store, which I love because you find the craziest things there. There are brands that don't exist anywhere else on the face of the earth. Now, I'll buy a lot of things at the 99� store, but not perfume, or condoms. A couple of years ago I remember watching as some guy tossed a box of 99� condoms on the conveyor belt. I was pretty sure that this guy was soon going to knock up his girlfriend/wife. No way I buy that from the 99� store. Like I said, I'll buy other things there, but not perfume, which was why I brought this up. I saw these on one shelf.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I know how most of these perfumes really smell, so when I took a whiff of these I was not shocked. However bad I thought there were going to be, they were slightly worse. They just had this bad smell to them, that you know is magnified as soon as you spray it on skin. Each of them had this Lysol, mouthwash, hint to their smell. Not good, at all. Still, I got a kick out of seeing these bottles. Now if they only had a 99� version of Egoiste. But not the Egoiste Platinum, I hate that one. They might as well sell the Egoiste Platinum at the 99� store, because I won't buy it.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland