previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Can't sleep, so I'll rant -- 10.17.10
 
It�s nearly midnight as I start to write this. About three hours ago I was sitting in my chair watching last week�s Redskins vs. Packers game. Well, I wasn�t really watching it, more like sleeping through it. Crazy thing is, it�s now midnight and I�m awake. I went to bed shortly after waking up from my unscheduled nap. An hour later, all the lights out, not a sound in the house, I still wasn�t asleep. So, I figured I�d do a little reading. That woke me up more. Now I�m wide awake, hungry, and eager to comment on this turn of events here. Yeah, great night.

Not sure how I�ll stave off hunger, because there isn�t really anything in the house that I can eat quietly so not to wake up my aunt. I guess I could go out and buy something from the local McDonald�s, like fries or something. But that would also mean going out, spending money (which is really scarce these days), and filling my belly with some crazy food. Anyway, whatever.

* * * * * *

I need to do a little bitching about stuff at work. I�m on thin ice most of the time I�m at my Glendale job because I have a mind of my own. That being said, I decided the last time I got in trouble that I would lay low, listen to whatever I was told to do and just do it to the letter, and keep my head down and wade through the work day. Nothing fancy. This plan was working for me for a while, until stupid me sent that dumb email to administration after one of the office guys there asked me to write down a few things that I was commenting on to him. But, that�s water under the bridge. This following rant is more about the general state of government. The following picture is blurry, sorry, but beyond that it�s a picture of waste (in my opinion, of course).

This is our new entrance to work, a door in the front of the library. Everyone is supposed to now go through this door. Before some people went through the back door in the dock area (around the building from this door). Some people entered through the front door. Some time back the decision was made to have one door for �safety� and �security� reasons. That sounds reasonable. But it doesn�t work if those who are supposed to have access can�t make it through the door. Hence this picture. This is the repairman who was at the library for two days working on this door. A door whose security lock was just recently installed. That fast, that broken. The door wouldn�t let me in Thursday morning. I had to swipe my card four times before the bolt actually clicked open. Eventually this door will probably work fine, but for now I�ve been told that the repairman has come out three times since it was installed about two weeks ago. So yeah, it makes me wonder why we had to change the system that was seemingly working fine. I don�t remember any stray patrons lurking around the dock. And even if they did, what could they do down there anyways? There are ways to get down there via the library. Someone who really wants to get down there can do so by simply walking down there. But, whatever... it�s not my job to think there. It�s my job to do what I�m told to do. Even if those orders are given with a sneer remark, punctuating the already contemptuous manor in which all the employees are seen.

* * * * * *

As I get a LITTLE sleepy I turn back to my sleeping pattern as of late. Also, I bring this up because I�m really trying not to go to the kitchen and get a midnight snack. Whatever... sleeping pattern. This falling asleep at 8pm while sitting on in my chair and then not being able to sleep until late at night has become my new sleep pattern for the last week. These things are temporary in my life, but they still annoy the hell out of me. I seriously need a drink. The girlfriend is coming over early Sunday morning for a little fun. Going to sleep early was in line with that plan. However, now It�s 20 to 1am and I�m still here typing away like a loon. It�s my own fault, I should have just gone to bed when I got up from my chair. Instead I brushed my teeth, badly, and then changed into my PJs. I should have already been IN my PJs. My aunt nearly made me late this morning, because I let myself slack off. I know that she�s going to be running late whenever I�m here. I have my schedule all planned out. I know what time to wake up, what time to eat in the morning, and what time to leave for work. It�s all been worked out. But then she comes running out of her room saying that she�s late for work. Today she got a call from work saying she was to work the early shift. She had left like five minutes before the call. There was no way she was going to make it to work on time. So instead of taking my shower and then eating I picked her up and took her to work. This killed about 20 minutes of my clockwork schedule. So I had to shower super fast, and eat even faster. I hate rushing, which is why I give myself so much time to get things done. Friday she was running late as well, and I dropped her off at the bus stop. Which made me only slightly late. But, because I had to rush out to drop her off I forgot my antacids, and to make a snack for my breaks. That last part was my own fault, because I forgot to make it the night before. I thought I would have time in the morning. Wrong and wrong. So now I have to plan on her being late, and plan ahead, because that�s what I like to do. However, this means maybe waking up a little earlier, and having things ready for me. Also means making a checklist so that I don�t forget important stuff like my antacids and gum, and wallet, and keys.

Hunger has won, I�m going to head to the kitchen and find something I can eat. Then, off to sleep, hopefully, and tomorrow Megan bright and early. :)

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland