previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Recap of a near perfect day -- 12.22.11
 
This week has had its ups and downs. The ups have all been personal. The downs have been nearly all work related. The ups, TheGirl and I are going quite steady. After last week together we reaffirmed why we are together. We simply make a great pair. Today TheGirl told me I curse to much, something I�ve been thinking as well. She said that in her past relationship she could not voice a problem that she had with the ex�s habits because she wouldn�t be listened to. But, I�m not like that. I was already leaning towards doing something about it.


Speaking of last week, it�s hard to believe that it was a week ago Saturday that we spent one of our best days as a couple. I took TheGirl up to Franklin Canyon, which is a beautiful park just off of Coldwater Canyon drive. TheGirl was impressed. We walked around, built up our appetite, and took a couple of pictures. Here�s a couple of the many I took there.

Afterwards we headed to the West Hollywood to get some food at the Veggie Grill. We�ve been wanting to go for some time now, and since we were just a few miles away we headed over there. As the name probably gives it away, the Veggie Grill serves up vegetarian meals. Here are a couple of pictures of what we ate.

I liked the food so much that I wrote a review on Yelp. Here�s a copy of what I wrote.

Veggie Grill

I�m not a Vegetarian, but my girlfriend is. Yet I was gun-ho to try the Veggie Grill because of some of the food my girlfriend has introduced to me over the last couple of year. The Veggie Grill does not disappoint. I wasn�t sure what to expect when I ordered the Grillin� Chicken, but one bite and I knew I was eating something special.
These days I feel that food has had the flavor processed out, as well as the nutrients. What I loved about the meal I had was that it was subtle and flavorful. There were layers of flavors in each bite, each one distinct and tasty. I miss that in food.
So yeah, if The Veggie Grill can win over a meat lover like me than it has to be good. One of the main complaints by meat lovers is how the texture of the food isn�t quite right. My �chicken�s� texture was quite good, and after the initial bite I didn�t notice it.. which is how it should be.
I�m definitely going to go back to try other things on the menu. Oh, for dessert I had the carrot cake. What I liked about that was, again, the layers of flavors. One doesn�t need to be conked over the head with sugar to consider a food yummy.
I only wish that there was a location closer to me in the Sherman Oaks (where I live), or Pasadena (where I work). I�d be there at least twice a month.

So the day was nearly perfect. And on top of everything else, I got a lot of great potential great pictures for my site. More on that later.

Tomorrow is Friday, and then Christmas Eve. Last year on Christmas TheGirl got a tattoo, representing her freedom. It�s hard to believe that it�s been a year since then. But it has. Boy, time sure does fly.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland